CGA Recognizes Leaders in Safety at the Annual SAFE Awards

The Canadian Gas Association (CGA) proudly recognizes the recipients of the 2018 Safety Awards for Excellence (SAFE). The awards are presented annually at CGA’s Operations, Engineering and Integrity Conference to representatives or groups who demonstrate outstanding dedication to safety. CGA member organizations recognized this year were Utilities Kingston, Union Gas Limited, AltaGas Utilities, TransCanada and the City of Medicine Hat.

The Public Safety Award was presented to Mike Pritchard and Jim Ingram of Utilities Kingston, for their contribution to damage prevention. Over the past two years, the company has seen a significant decrease in third party hits to the distribution system largely in part to the safety awareness efforts of the gas construction and locate teams.

Union Gas Limited was awarded the Worker Safety Award for its Construction Safety Performance (CSP) program.  This initiative was put in place in order to eliminate the occurrence of significant incidents on construction projects using contractor resources and to prevent the recurrence of similar incidents, all while improving overall safety performance.

Peter Fisher, Lead II Transmission Operations, Union Gas Limited; Dave Koopman, Manager, EOH&S, AltaGas Utilities; and Paul Medd, Advisor, System Operations STO, Union Gas Limited each received the Lifetime Achievement Award for their commitment and contribution to enhancing safety in their workplace, their community and the natural gas industry throughout their careers.

TransCanada received the Corporate Safety Award for Employee Safety and the City of Medicine Hat received the Corporate Safety Award for Vehicular Safety in recognition of their roles in reducing worker injury and vehicle damages at their respective organizations over the last year.


“On behalf of the Canadian Gas Association, I want to congratulate each recipient for their ongoing work to maintain the highest standards of safety and security for both the public and their colleagues. I believe it is important we recognize that the natural gas distribution industry is committed to the safe, secure, reliable, and environmentally responsible delivery of natural gas to all its customers.”

Timothy M. Egan
President and CEO
Canadian Gas Association

Quick Links

Canadian Gas Association
Utilities Kingston
AltaGas Utilities
Union Gas
City of Medicine Hat

Twitter: @cga_acg

About the SAFE Awards

The Canadian Gas Association (CGA) Safety Awards are intended to honour significant examples of the natural gas industry’s dedication to safety management. Through engagement in the awards program, member utilities have an opportunity to gain recognition at the corporate and individual level for their work, and through that recognition, to inspire a culture of continuous improvement in safety for employees, contractors, customers and the public at large.

About CGA

The Canadian Gas Association (CGA) is the voice of Canada’s natural gas distribution industry and its members are distribution companies, transmission companies, equipment manufacturers and other service providers. Natural gas has a central place in Canada’s energy mix meeting 35 per cent of the country’s energy needs. Today, over 7.1 million customers representing two-thirds of Canadians rely on natural gas for heat and power in homes, apartments, buildings, businesses, hospitals and schools.

For more information contact:

Aysha Raad
Director, Communications
Canadian Gas Association
Office: 613-748-0057 ext. 310

More Recent Press Releases

Strengthening Cyber Security to Protect Canada’s Natural Gas Distribution Systems

Cyber security is integral to safeguarding Canada’s citizens, information, economy and infrastructure. The need has never been greater as threats evolve and threaten to disrupt our daily lives. The Honourable Seamus O’Regan Jr., Minister of…

CGA Presents the Michael Mulcahy Award for Excellence and Innovation in Customer Care and Service to SaskEnergy

The Canadian Gas Association (CGA) is pleased to present SaskEnergy Inc. with the third annual Michael Mulcahy Award for Excellence and Innovation in Customer Care and Service (Mulcahy Award) for their Carbon Monoxide (CO) Safety…