CGA recognizes recipients of CGA Annual Awards 2022 at the Energy Nexus and Annual Technical Conference

The Canadian Gas Association (CGA) proudly recognizes and congratulates all recipients of the 2022 CGA Annual Awards. CGA recognized recipients in four categories: Excellence and Innovation in Customer Care and Service; Environmental Stewardship (Operating Practices and Innovation in Emissions Reduction); Safety Awards for Excellence (SAFE); and Young Business Leaders.

The Michael Mulcahy Award for Excellence and Innovation in Customer Care and Service was awarded to the City of Medicine Hat for their Streamlined Service Standard and SaskEnergy for their Customer Centric Design. Both awardees have demonstrated leadership and innovation to improve their service while enhancing customer satisfaction.

SaskEnergy was awarded the Environmental Stewardship Award for Operating Practices for their Emissions Reduction Roadmap, an execution-ready roadmap for reducing GHG emissions by 35% with focus on Scope 1 (Direct) and Scope 2 (Indirect Electricity) emissions. ATCO was awarded the Environmental Stewardship Award for Innovation in Emissions Reductions for their Fort Saskatchewan Hydrogen Blending Project. The project saw the delivery of hydrogen blended to 2,100 residential and commercial customers and is intended to be a starting point to extend the concept of hydrogen blended natural gas to larger markets, resulting in significant reductions in GHG emissions.

The Young Business Leader of the Year Award was awarded to Daniel Blata (Enbridge), Patrick Bain (ATCO), Ashley Mathew-Lang (TC Energy), Jamie Kilkenny (SaskEnergy), and Brad Lattanzi (Enbridge). This award recognizes emerging leaders under 40 who have demonstrated their potential to guide the industry of the future from a business, environmental, regulatory and/or public service perspective.

CGA also recognized the recipients of Safety Awards for Excellence (SAFE) at the conference. Pacific Northern Gas (PNG) was awarded the Worker Safety Award for its Geohazard Awareness Tool, which provides automatic and semi-automatic recommendations on geohazard safety risks. ATCO received the Public Safety Award for their awareness campaign called “Don’t Dig Blindfolded.” The campaign focused on reducing excavation related damage to underground natural gas infrastructure. Eastward Energy, Gazifere, and Liberty Utilities New Brunswick were awarded the Corporate Safety Award for Employee Safety, and Corporate Safety Award for Vehicular Safety was presented to TC Energy.

“Our members do a tremendous amount of work to ensure Canadians have access to clean, affordable, and reliable energy to meet their daily needs. They have demonstrated excellent leadership in customer service, environmental stewardship, safety, and in creating opportunities for the workforce of the future,” said Timothy M. Egan, President and CEO of the Canadian Gas Association. “On behalf of the Canadian Gas Association, I congratulate them and all the organizations and individuals who were recognized with awards today.”

Quick Links
Canadian Gas Association | @cga_acg | CGA Annual Awards Program

About the Mulcahy Award
The Mulcahy Award was created in memory of Michael Mulcahy, former President and CEO of FortisBC and former Chair of the Canadian Gas Association. It recognizes significant achievement (over and above everyday activities) by members of the natural gas delivery industry in the area of innovation and service to natural gas users/customers. The award also serves to help guide other CGA member utilities on their journey to excellent and innovative customer service. Through participation in the Mulcahy Award process, all will benefit from exposure to the efforts of others in the industry, thereby raising its overall standard of customer care – a huge priority for Mike Mulcahy in his many years of service to customers in the industry.

About the Environment Stewardship Awards
Environmental Stewardship Awards are divided into two categories: Environmental Stewardship Award for Operating Practices and Environmental Stewardship Award for Innovation in Emissions Reduction. The Environmental Stewardship Award for Operating Practices superior performance in the building, operating and/or maintenance of gaseous energy infrastructure including methodologies & techniques that can be shared industry-wide to help nationally in the preservation of Canada’s air, land & aquatic resources. The Environmental Stewardship Award for Innovation in Emissions Reduction recognizes superior performance in the reduction of overall emissions through increased efficiency in everyday downstream usage applications, new innovative end-use technology, fuel switching to gaseous energy and/or addressing fugitive or operationalized methane emissions.

About the Leadership Awards
CGA’s Leadership Awards are intended to mark significant milestones in the gaseous energy industry’s achievements in the areas of customer care, environmental stewardship, and future leadership of the industry itself and help to guide other member organizations in their own efforts to achieve excellence.

About the SAFE Awards
The Canadian Gas Association Safety Awards for Excellence (SAFE) are intended to honour significant examples of the natural gas industry’s dedication to safety management. Through engagement in the awards program, member utilities have an opportunity to gain recognition at the corporate and individual level for their work, and through that recognition, to inspire a culture of continuous improvement in safety for employees, contractors, customers, and the public at large.

About CGA
The Canadian Gas Association (CGA) is the voice of Canada’s gaseous energy delivery industry, including natural gas, renewable natural gas (RNG) and hydrogen. CGA membership includes energy distribution and transmission companies, equipment manufacturers, and suppliers of goods and services to the industry. CGA’s utility members are Canadian-owned and active in eight provinces and one territory. CGA members meet 38 per cent of Canada’s energy needs through a network of over 577,000 kilometers of underground infrastructure. The versatility and resiliency of this infrastructure allows it to deliver an ever-changing gas supply mix to over 7.4 million customer locations representing approximately two-thirds of Canadians. CGA members ensure Canadians get the affordable, reliable, clean gaseous energy they want and need. CGA is also working to constantly improve that gaseous energy offering, by driving forward innovation through the Natural Gas Innovation Fund (NGIF).

For more information contact:
Harshivam Bawa
Acting Manager, Communications
Canadian Gas Association

More Recent Press Releases

Canadian Gas Association funds project to increase RNG and hydrogen awareness

The Canadian Gas Association (CGA) today announced it received $212,000 in funding from Natural Resources Canada for support on a project to improve awareness of the potential for Renewable Natural Gas (RNG) and hydrogen (H2)…


April is Dig Safe month and marks the beginning of digging season across Canada. To ensure safety, the Canadian Gas Association (CGA) and its members encourage all individuals and contractors to “call or click before you dig”…